First Bike Service

1 Sep

42-22340295I rode over 1000km on my bike. When the odometer reached 1000km, the service indicator lit up on the digital display, which indicates the next service is due. In another word my bike has been broken in and is ready for its first service. Yeah, I was so looking forward to this day.

42-20916917The first service includes lubricating the drive chain, changing of engine oil and engine oil filter. I think these are the basic stuff. However I know nothing about it, so I need to rely on the mechanic’s expertise. However, he is not cheap: $98 per hour for shop labour rate. This is no joke. Sigh.
I know warranty is a good thing, and I always take everything to the dealership. But that is one pricey labour rate. Should I stick with the dealership? Well, thank goodness that the bike’s next service is when the odometer reaches 12000km. I will think about that later.

Leave a Reply

